How to further customize the bs5 styling?

How to further customize the bs5 styling?

TablefakTablefak Posts: 33Questions: 7Answers: 0
edited May 2023 in Free community support

Disclaimer: I'm still a noob regarding CSS and web development in general, so I apologize in advance if this question isn't directly related to the datatables project.

I'm using the bs5 styling for my datatable and I'm looking for a way to further customize some CSS. For example, I'd like to change the row selection color.

My first thought was that I could simply override some SCSS variables (like you can do with the bootstrap itself, for example). However, by looking at my node_modules folder, I can see that the datatables.net-select-bs5 package only includes the compiled CSS files, making my approach impossible:

Customizing plain CSS can be tedious, so I assume I'm missing something.

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• TablefakTablefak Posts: 33Questions: 7Answers: 0
    edited May 2023

According to the information here, I can avoid using the download builder, and download the Select project directly from a GitHub repo instead.

That way I should have access to the SCSS files like this one.

Would this be the right approach? And should I download all the datatables related packages this way too if I might wanna customize other styles? E.g. should I clone the main datatables source repo too?

• allanallan Posts: 61,642Questions: 1Answers: 10,093 Site admin
    Answer ✓

In the case of the row selected colour, you don't need to mess around with the SCSS files at all. In DataTables 1.13.2 I introduced a CSS variable to set the row selected colour, since that is such a common style change to want to make.

Here is an example showing it turning the selected row red. You can use any rgb colour code you want.