FixedHeader responds to page scroll. How about to container scroll?

FixedHeader responds to page scroll. How about to container scroll?

hanksterr7hanksterr7 Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

Hi. I've been using dataTables for several years with great results. Thanks
I have a question about the fixedHeader option, and I searched the forum and am surprised to not find a discussion of this topic.
I recently created a new page that has several dataTables on it.
I want to put each table in its own div (with the div having style:overflow:auto, and having its position and size set by css)
I want to be able to vertically scroll each div, if the table contained in it vertically overflows the div. I can make that work easily enough, but if I enable fixedHeader on those tables, the header doesn't stay put within the div.
FixedHeader works fine if I scroll the page, but not if I scroll a div on the page that contains the table.
Is it possible to set the target container that fixedHeader should monitor for changes to scroll position? Or does it only know to listen for page scrolls?
I tried using scrollY instead of fixedHeader, that had issues with the colResize and colReorder options I also want to use.
I don't think this is a version issue, but I am using datatable v1.10.18 and fixedHeader v3.1.4. Happy to update these if likely to be helpful. Thanks

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,993Questions: 26Answers: 4,887

FixedHeader works fine if I scroll the page, but not if I scroll a div on the page that contains the table.

@allan will need to comment on this.

FixedHeader 3.2.0 added support for scrolling tables, ie, scrollY. I wonder if the Vertical scroll fitting solution will work for you. According to the Compatibility matrix scrolling is compatible with ColReorder. Not sure how this will affect calResize as that is a third party library which I believe incorporates an old version of ColReorder.

Kevin

• hanksterr7hanksterr7 Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0