Using TypeScript and RowGroup extension, interface extensions aren't working

Using TypeScript and RowGroup extension, interface extensions aren't working

rycwilsonrycwilson Posts: 17Questions: 4Answers: 0
edited October 2023 in Extensions

I have been using datatables for a while, but I'm relatively new to TypeScript and am struggling to make use of some interface definitions/extensions.

I have installed packages datatables.net-bs and datatables.net-rowgroup-bs (yes, it's an old project using bootstrap3).

I am importing like so:

import DataTable from 'datatables.net-bs';
import type { Config, Api } from 'datatables.net-bs';

This works fine for annotating the return value of new DataTable(...) and a function that returns some configuration options. For example (all this resides in a Stimulus controller class):

// class member:
declare dt: Api<any>
// method asynchronously initializes the table:
readyValueChanged(dataIsReady: boolean) {
  if (dataIsReady) this.dt = new DataTable(this.element, this.baseOptions)
}
get baseOptions(): Config {
  return { ... }
}

Now I want to work with the RowGroup extension. Along with the above imports, I add:
import 'datatables.net-rowgroup-bs';

However, TypeScript flags this.dt.rowGroup() and says "rowGroup does not exist on type Api<any>". It similarly complains when I add a rowGroup property to the options object.

I see that node_modules/datatables.net-rowgroup-bs/types/types.d.ts is an empty file, however node_modules/datatables.net-rowgroup/types/types.d.ts has the necessary declaration merge (or extension). Whether I import datatables.net-rowgroup or datatables.net-rowgroup-bs, the declaration merge just doesn't seem to happen. Do I need to declare a module, or ... something?

I should also mention... I'm not bothering with @types definitions, as my assumption is that the official type definitions are sufficient and I'm trying to keep things as simple as possible.