Using DataTables

Using DataTables

sjw01sjw01 Posts: 67Questions: 36Answers: 1

i've been playing with DataTables now for a few months and found it's flexibility to be quite amazing.

What I am really struggling with is the documentation and to difference between DataTables and jQuery.

is there any alternate resources on DataTables?

Answers

• rf1234rf1234 Posts: 2,922Questions: 87Answers: 414

"is there any alternate resources on DataTables?"

not really. I think the documentation is fairly good. I would go by the examples and use the search function in the forum. Or use Google as well. Sometimes you'll find stack overflow postings as well. I use Data Tables with Editor only. That seems to be a lot more convenient than using Data Tables stand alone because you don't have to worry very much about how to handle the communication between client and server. I would also take a look at the Blog.

"What I am really struggling with is the documentation and to difference between DataTables and jQuery."

well in many cases you can use the api or you can use "native" jQuery. It is up to you while it is advisable to use the api wherever possible.

• allanallan Posts: 63,095Questions: 1Answers: 10,389 Site admin

What I am really struggling with is the documentation and to difference between DataTables and jQuery.

Perhaps you could give an example of what you are struggling with and I'll attempt to explain it.

Allan

• colincolin Posts: 15,237Questions: 1Answers: 2,598

Hi @sjw01 ,

I'm new to both, I didn't know JavaScript, jQuery or DataTablesin the slightest 6 months ago! It sounds like you may be in a similar position.

What I would suggest is doing an online course - I did this one from W3Schools and found it very helpful, and then go through the examples on the DataTables site.