How to auto update a second column if first column is edited

How to auto update a second column if first column is edited

bipsbips Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

Description of problem: Say I have a table with two columns and they are - "payment_status" and "date". User can only view and edit/update the column "payment_status" with available dropdown options - Paid or Dues. Let whatever option they chose to update the column "payment_status", the another column "date" should update automatically with the current date-time (similar to NOW() ) in my database

My table have both inline editing and primary editing options enabled. I am using newest version.

Please suggest (I am a beginner). There are already few questions in the forum similar to mine but those are very old (for old version)

Answers

• tangerinetangerine Posts: 3,342Questions: 35Answers: 394

MySQL can update timestamp fields automatically. You would need to apply the attribute "ON UPDATE CURRENT_TIMESTAMP()".

• bipsbips Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0

@tangerine - The table I mentioned in my question is just an example. I can't apply the attribute on my database as you have mentioned because in my real table there are many other columns too which my user keeps updating.

• rf1234rf1234 Posts: 2,801Questions: 85Answers: 406

This is easy to find in the editor back end documentation. Just search for “set“, “setValue“, setFormatter etc.. If you can't get it going please post your code or at least let us know what programming language you are using at the back end.

• allanallan Posts: 61,438Questions: 1Answers: 10,052 Site admin

A server-side event (assuming you are using out libraries), such as preEdit, in combination with the setValue method that rf1234 mentioned is the way to go here.

Allan

• bipsbips Posts: 3Questions: 1Answers: 0
    edited July 2020