Initializing DataTable

Initializing DataTable

herculeshercules Posts: 21Questions: 9Answers: 0

Hi Friends,

I am a beginner at this obviously. But the below code initializes the DataTable. My question is where/why in the code would I put a console.log(data) so that I can interrogate the data. I have tried putting console.log(data) in different places in the code and I kept seeing the squiggly lines that said I need a comma. Also I read where you can use a command in the console window, but digging through all of that did not yield me any results I couldn't find the information that shows you the data, number of columns, and rows etc... If there is some literature where I can read all about my question I would certainly appreciate being referred to that as well. Thanks !!!!

$(document).ready(function () {

var table = $('#productTable').DataTable(
            {
                "ajax": {
                    "url": "/api/Products/",
                    "type": "GET",
                    "dataSrc": "",
                    "datatype": "json"
                },

"columns": [
                    {

data: null,
                        className: "dt-center editor-delete",
                        defaultContent: "<button>Edit</button>",
                        orderable: false
                    },

{ "data": "ProductName" },
                    { "data": "IntroductionDate" },
                    { "data": "Url" },
                    {
                        data: null,
                        className: "dt-center editor-delete",
                        defaultContent: "<button>Edit</button>",
                        orderable: false
                    }

],
                        "language": {

"emptyTable": "No data found, Please click on <b>Add Product</b> Button"
                      }

});

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,148Questions: 26Answers: 4,736
    edited September 2021 Answer ✓