Using Exp to excel from tables with different number of columns

Using Exp to excel from tables with different number of columns

Learn2excelLearn2excel Posts: 33Questions: 5Answers: 1

Hello All,

I am new to development. I am trying to use the below piece of code for export to excel from datatable. There are two web pages that will be using this code for their datatables. The problem here is, the number of columns is not the same in both of these pages. In one of the page, there are 7 columns visible on the page, I need only from columns 2nd to 7th to be exported, the 1st column is not required. In the other page, there are 3 columns visible on the page, I need only from columns 2nd and 3rd to be exported, the 1st column is not required. I am not sure how to add a condition to fulfill this requirement.

Additionally, for your information, in the source file, separate table IDs have been given for the datatables in these two pages. For the page which has 7 columns, the table ID is tblPDM and for the one that has 3 columns is tblUtls.

Can someone let me know what additional piece of function or code is needed here so that the export to excel will work in both pages according to the columns on that page.

Thank you in advance.

buttons: [
{
extend: 'excelHtml5',
text: '<i class="btn_excel"></i> <span class=btn_text_align>Export to Excel</span>',
className: 'btn-sm btn_size',
titleAttr: 'Export to Excel',
exportOptions: {

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• allanallan Posts: 61,762Questions: 1Answers: 10,111 Site admin

This example shows how you can determine which columns should be included in an export.

You could for example add an "export" class to the columns you want exported and then just use:

columns: [ '.export' ]
                    }

Allan

• Learn2excelLearn2excel Posts: 33Questions: 5Answers: 1

Hi Allan

Thank you for your response.