Searching over a column of 'select' elements

Searching over a column of 'select' elements

kjkiddkjkidd Posts: 13Questions: 4Answers: 0
edited September 2015 in DataTables 1.10

Anyone know how one could modify search to search over the currently selected values on the last column ( https://www.datatables.net/examples/plug-ins/dom_sort ) ? If you notice when you search for an element of the last column, nothing changes because the search does not distinguish between selected and unselected values.

I've been trying to create a regular expression to pull out that value, but haven't had any luck so far (since I have little experience with regex).

This question has an accepted answers - jump to answer

Answers

• ThomDThomD Posts: 334Questions: 11Answers: 43

Great question. I think you would have to combine two things. First, keep the search engine from looking at that column with the search API https://datatables.net/reference/option/columns.searchable

Then you would need to hook into a change event for the input (keyup?) to add column filters using some of the example here
    https://datatables.net/examples/api/multi_filter.html

I'd put a class on the column that you could use as a selector for the filter function.

• kjkiddkjkidd Posts: 13Questions: 4Answers: 0

Yes as of now, I am only worried about searching that single column. I don't need it to be integrated into the global search. One idea I was just playing around was using something like the following code:

$('#grid_table tbody').on( 'mousedown', 'td', function (e) {
    selectedColumn = table.cell(this).index().column;
    if (e.button == 2){
    searchData = ( $('select', table.cell(this).node() ).val() );
    table.column(selectedColumn).nodes().map( function (td, i){return $('select', td).val();}).search(searchData).draw();