Noob Question(s)

Noob Question(s)

malkneilmalkneil Posts: 2Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited October 2015 in Free community support

Hello DataTables community.

I'm fairly new to jQuery and DataTables but right now I'm simply trying to take the JSON returned from an AJAX request and put it into a table. Data coming back looks like this:

[{"sc":"00","stop_date":"2014-12-04T05:00:00Z","comments":"CROSS AUTO FUNCTION CODE 01 CREATED QSAR","part_sequence":"1","document":"763965661","cia":"0","part_qty":"2","part_number":"43W7633","part_status":"DISBURSED ","machine_serial":" ","machine_type":"1726","entity_type":"qsar","part_fc":"01"},
{"sc":"00","stop_date":"2014-12-19T05:00:00Z","comments":"CROSS AUTO FUNCTION CODE 01 CREATED QSAR","part_sequence":"1","document":"764093109","cia":"0","part_qty":"1","part_number":"39R6518","part_status":"DISBURSED ","machine_serial":" ","machine_type":"1726","entity_type":"qsar","part_fc":"01"}]

Pretty straight-forward. I simply want to create the table and have the column headers be set to the key for each row. On top of that I'm trying to set default values as some rows come back missing a key/value pair.

To accomplish this I'm attempting to go about all of this using columnDefs to define the column headers as well as the default content behavior. I'm guessing I then need to pass in the data itself using some other mechanism?

I've developed in Java for a while but a lot of this is simply not intuitive to me. I'm looking through examples on forums and I see people using a mix of "columnDefs", "aaData", "data", "aoColumns" and "columns" in their DataTable defintion. It's not clear which are prefrerred/required. For the record I'm using the latest version of DataTables (1.10.9).

Sorry for any botched terminology above; I can clarify if need be.

Thanks in advance.

Answers

• jLinuxjLinux Posts: 981Questions: 73Answers: 75

I'm guessing I then need to pass in the data itself using some other mechanism?