Working with a selected subset of a table

Working with a selected subset of a table

TomBajzekTomBajzek Posts: 163Questions: 36Answers: 1

Ive been happily using DataTables/Editor for a couple of months now, but I'm still learning, and I've come across a couple of things that I apparently don't understand correctly:

How can I load a subset of a database from the server and then operate on that same subset of data using AJAX? I viewed this as using server-side processing to load the table subset, and then operating on it as though it were DOM-sourced.

My PHP code begins by attempting to load the desired subset of the data using PHP, after which I'd thought I could just operate on it using AJAX. What I find is that the data initially loaded consists of the entire table, not just the subset defined in my MySQL select statement.

I do not need or want to do a server-side reload of the page for every AJAX update, provided that I can just continue working with the initial subset. Am I misunderstanding what I can do here, or am I misunderstanding how to do it?

As an aside, how would I use DOM-sourced data without loading it into the DOM by loading with with a SQL select statement?

Thanks very much

Replies

• allanallan Posts: 61,669Questions: 1Answers: 10,096 Site admin

Hi,

How can I load a subset of a database from the server and then operate on that same subset of data using AJAX?

What is the sub-set? It is a single page of data? If so, then yes, server-side processing sounds like it would be exactly what is required. What PHP script are you using to implement server-side processing if so - your own, the SSP class or something else?

However, as you then say, you don't really want an Ajax request for every page, which is fundamentally what server-side processing is all about. So I'd need a little clarification on what it is your are trying to do please.