Newbie! Need some basic advice to start. Currently using MSSQL-PHP-APACHE2

Newbie! Need some basic advice to start. Currently using MSSQL-PHP-APACHE2

waolwaol Posts: 37Questions: 0Answers: 0
edited August 2009 in General
Hi guys,

I want to apologise in advance for any silly question I'm about to pose.

I've come accross datatables and it seems that it can really help me in my job.
I have written a php page that queries a Ms-sql database, retireve a bunf of data and than put them into a table to be displayed by a browser. I have both php and a html table page version.(the html one written by php)

I've gone through some of the examples of what can be done with DataTables and I'm truly impressed; my problem?
I'm not a programmer but come from a Network background so I'd like some basic advice on how to start using this magic tool. Assuming it's the right one and can do what I need: sort asc/desc any column, change sorting, give colors to cells/columns depending on conditions, have clickable cells that will explode in new queries/ page(all stuff I'm currently very painfully doing in php).

I'm not quite getting the A-B-C here, don't even the pieces of codes needed and where to put them; I should be able to figure out more by myself when given the start.

Thanks all, I can provide my current code if you want to have an idea of what I'm doing.

Thanks,
Salvo

Replies

• orchid1orchid1 Posts: 18Questions: 0Answers: 0
    ouch! best thing you can do is look over the documentation

first thing first get it working as a basic version on your server
    have you got it even working in the basic version on your server???

start by installing the tutorial for the server side
    do that and then come back tot he forum that should get you familiarized with the basics
    goodluck
  • waolwaol Posts: 37Questions: 0Answers: 0