Advanced table row filtering

Advanced table row filtering

vismarkvismark Posts: 79Questions: 5Answers: 0
edited February 2020 in Free community support

Following this question, due to the difficulty in creating advanced custom filtering, I decided to follow standard filter() api route.

I successfully created a regex to match strings different from one or more strings (with this regex: ^((?!string1|string2).)*$) but i'm stuck in building the following regex:

• string alphabetically greater / greater or equal
  • string alphabetically less / less or equal
  • string alphabetically in range of 2 strings (that means greater or equal AND less or equal)

Could someone please provide support in doing so? I'm quite new to regex patterns...

Replies

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 21,167Questions: 26Answers: 4,921

It seems to me that Regex isn't a good solution for what you want. However if you are interested in learning the rege101 site is a good place to learn and build regex expressions.

I would look at using a Search Plugin for this. We can help with this if you start by building a simple test case that represents your data.
    https://datatables.net/manual/tech-notes/10#How-to-provide-a-test-case

Kevin

• vismarkvismark Posts: 79Questions: 5Answers: 0
    edited February 2020

Thanks Kevin, unfortunately I've unsuccessfully tried the plugin way and found the following downsides:
    - possible conflicts with multi table pages, would have preferred if plugin could be bound to each single table
    - need to manually handle table filters state saving / restoring