MySQL & DataTables implementation to combine data from multiple tables OR filter data from one table

MySQL & DataTables implementation to combine data from multiple tables OR filter data from one table

avasmatavasmat Posts: 6Questions: 2Answers: 0

Hello,

I'm hoping to get some help with how to implement the example described below. For reference, I'm not a coder; a 'beginner PHP hacker' is how I'd describe myself as.

Goal:

• Build an internal site, to display metrics for multiple internal teams.
  • The home page needs to display the metrics for ALL teams, in one DataTables table.
  • Each team would have its own page, where team-specific metrics would need to be displayed in a DataTables table.

Technical:

Implementation Issue:

Option 1: Create one MySQL table containing metrics for ALL teams. This is great for displaying all the metrics on the homepage in one DataTables table. However:

• How would I separate the data from the MySQL tables to display metrics for each individual team, on their individual pages?

Option 2: Create separate MySQL tables containing metrics for each individual team. This would be great for displaying the metrics in one DataTables table for each individual team page. However:

• How would I combine the data from the MySQL tables to display metrics for ALL teams, on the homepage?

Please let me know if more details are required.

Any help is much appreciated! Thank you.

Answers

• rf1234rf1234 Posts: 2,938Questions: 87Answers: 415
    edited January 2023

I think you should get started learning about data modeling before you start coding. In what you mention there are a number of entities that may or may not be represented as a database table. These are at the minimum:
    - team (name and other attributes that describe a team, e.g. sport they are playing, e.g. football, basketball etc.)
    - metric (whatever that is ...)