Having trouble getting AJAX to work.

Having trouble getting AJAX to work.

Robert696Robert696 Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

I'm using MVC 5 with Datatables. Controller returns JSON formatted data. Data is not displaying in a data table.

I posted example at http://live.datatables.net/puhuyofo/1/

I don't know how exactly to emulate at live.datatables.net this since all this work is currently in our dev environment. In my example (which also doesn't work), I created a variable that holds a JSON result with a sample of data that would get returned.

I'm still a novice at JQuery and MVC so perhaps there is something obvious that I'm missing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Rob

This question has accepted answers - jump to:

Answers

• tangerinetangerine Posts: 3,342Questions: 35Answers: 394

"ajax": "data"

I don't think you need the quotes around data as it's the name of a variable.

• Robert696Robert696 Posts: 5Questions: 1Answers: 0

@tangerine -- Thank you for your quick response. Unfortunately, I get the same results either way. :(

Rob

• ignignoktignignokt Posts: 146Questions: 4Answers: 39
    edited December 2014

Try changing var data = '{[{" to var data = '[{" and of course the ending to match it. "}]';

It doesn't seem to work in your example when I make the change, but your full reply should look like this via server-side ajax:

{"draw":1,"recordsTotal":1,"recordsFiltered":1,"data":[{"fileName":"My File","statusText":"Good","downloaded":"Yes","numberOfRows":"12","rowsInError":"0","errorText":"My error!"}]}

If you are not using the DataTables server side code, or another method. It will work handling it yourself, I'm not sure exactly how you are retrieving your data. You could also do it like this though.

$(document).ready( function () {
      var data = [{0:"Hamm",1:"turkey",2:"yees",3:"12",4:"12",5:"Ham"}];
      var table = $('#example').dataTable({
        "data": data,
        "paging": true,
        "ordering": true
      });
    } );