Datatable formatting issues on iPad portrait layout

Datatable formatting issues on iPad portrait layout

CaliweedjobsCaliweedjobs Posts: 10Questions: 3Answers: 0

Hi,

I'm using datatables in a job board. The job board is a python flask web app that uses bootstrap 4, if that matters to anyone.

I'm seeing some formatting issues when viewing the datatable on my iPad on portrait mode.

The first issue is the search bar is pushing into the column to the right. This is not an issue on larger screens, where there is more space, or smaller screens, where that 2nd column to the right is pushed below the data table.

The 2nd issue is the pagination info, for lack of a better term. The page links are getting pushed on top of the text which tells you which rows you are looking at. (i.e. Showing 25 of 100 rows)

Can anyone help with some specific guidance? I ask for specificity because I'm a beginner and a tip like, 'try CSS' is not quite helpful enough.

Thank you! -Ian

Answers

• kthorngrenkthorngren Posts: 20,299Questions: 26Answers: 4,769

Does this page work for you on your IPAD?
    https://datatables.net/examples/styling/bootstrap4.html

Likely the problem is CSS related. Without a link to your page or a test case its nearly impossible to troubleshoot as its specific to your environment.
    https://datatables.net/manual/tech-notes/10#How-to-provide-a-test-case

Maybe setting the dom option based on the BS4 styling example might help.

Kevin

• CaliweedjobsCaliweedjobs Posts: 10Questions: 3Answers: 0

Hi @kthorngren, thanks for the reply, the example page you sent looks perfect on my ipad, see screenshot, however my datatable has only 4 columns on ipad, and this example has 6, so it's not an apples to apples comparison:

I don't know if it's practical to provide a test case given how my web app is set up, but i should have provided a link to the page with the datatable earlier, www.caliweedjobs.com.