How to reload table from ajax response when the json comes in varied sizes? INVALID JSON on reload()

How to reload table from ajax response when the json comes in varied sizes? INVALID JSON on reload()

jamcnorcjamcnorc Posts: 8Questions: 1Answers: 0
edited December 2022 in Free community support

Hi,
New here so please let me know if I need to update some things. First a bit of context, I am a front end dev and do not have a lot of control over the back end responses. (It can be done, but I'd like to handle this if possible). I am using the datatables plugin inside of a jsp page.

When I submit my table after a user edits it, an ajax call executes a stored procedure which returns the updated data in a json format. This format comes in a different order, and not all of the fields are consistent.

For example, if a record has an error, the corresponding json record will contain the field "error_desc". If a record does not have an error, then the field "error_desc" is omitted from the response.

I have a fiddle here, but my use case relies on on prem servers and is embedded in a complicated application using both struts 2 and dhtmlx. I'm not quite sure how to emulate this issue without going down a separate rabbit hole. This page at least shows how my original table is constructed, and then below you can see my response json object: https://jsfiddle.net/rzL4sja8/
Currently I populate the table from the database, allow the user to edit, the stored procedure runs and returns a json with the updated values, but when I try to call dt.ajax.reload(); I see the dreaded DataTables warning: table id=staged - Invalid JSON response.

I followed the steps from here: https://datatables.net/manual/tech-notes/1#:~:text=When%20DataTables%20shows%20the%20message,back%20was%20not%20valid%20JSON